Set Volume Selection Priority

By default, BRMS selects volumes for backup and duplication without any input from users.  Some users may want to influence volume selection for BRMS operations.  The following commands can be run to change the priority of volume selection criteria:

Set volume selection priority type to override the default volume selection criteria.

CALL QBRM/Q1AOLD PARM('VOLSLTPRI' '*SET' '<scope>' '<priorityType>')

where:

<scope> must be replaced with one of the values:

*JOB  The current job will use the volume selection priority defined by the priority type parameter.

*SYS  All jobs will use the volume selection priority defined by the priority type parameter.

<priorityType> must be replaced with one of the values:

0  Disable volume selection priority.

1 Use mounted volumes when they are owned by the local system and they match the requirements of the save operation such as media class.

example:

To give mounted volumes priority during BRMS operations in any job, run the following command:

CALL QBRM/Q1AOLD PARM('VOLSLTPRI' '*SET' '*SYS' '1')

Reset the volume selection priority settings and use default volume selection criteria.

CALL QBRM/Q1AOLD PARM('VOLSLTPRI' '*CLEAR' '<scope>')

where:

<scope> must be replaced with one of the values:

*JOB  The current job will be reset to the default volume selection criteria.

*SYS  All jobs will be reset to the default volume selection criteria.


Example

To clear volume selection priority settings for the current job, run the following command:

CALL QBRM/Q1AOLD PARM('VOLSLTPRI' '*CLEAR' '*JOB')


NOTES:

  1. Volume selection priority settings only apply to volumes owned by the local system.
  2. In releases IBM i 7.1 and 7.2, to use volume selection priority, the following PTFs or superseding PTFs are required: