Unmount file systems before backups are run
Control groups allow file systems in the integrated file system (IFS) to be unmounted when they are run. The Unmount user-defined file systems field controls file system mount behavior. This field can be viewed by running the Work with Control Groups (
WRKCTLBRM) command and specifying option 8 to change the attributes for a control group. Note that the option can only be changed via BRMS GUI .
In IBM i 6.1 and above, if the Unmount user-defined file systems field is set to *YES for a control group, after a backup finishes BRMS will then attempt to re-mount any file systems that were unmounted before the backup began.
- If an error occurs when a file system is being re-mounted, it will not cause the control group to end in error.
- In releases IBM i 6.1 - 7.2, to enable the re-mount function (included in base in 7.3 and above), the following PTFs or superseding PTFs are required:
When using the SAVBRM command, object level detail is automatically saved
When using the SAVBRM command to save the Integrated File System files, object level detail is automatically saved. It is not possible to turn this off. This could result in large files in QUSRBRM (QA1ADI2 and QA1ALI2). Files in QUSRBRM should never be cleared. To remove unwanted object level for saved IFS data, uses can use the
RMVMEDIBRM option. See, Removing Object Level Detailing Using the RMVMEDIBRM and STRMNTBRM Commands for more information about this.
NOTE: If this is done, it will not be possible to "drill down" to individual files using
WRKLNKBRM , or use
RSTBRM to restore individual files.
Additional information about the backing up IFS objects